Deal ledger

What AI buyers pay for company records

Every deal, offer and published price we could find for companies licensing their internal records (chat, email, docs, tickets, code) for AI training. Each entry links to where it was reported. Company and buyer names are left out.

Updated
28 Oct 2026
Company entries
30
Sources
309
Quotes checked against their source
886

Deals and offers

What a specific company was paid or offered. Prices in US dollars, as reported.

About $25K for code, about $15K pending for workspace data
Crypto startup, shut down in 2026Codebase, then Google Workspace, Notion, Figma and Slack dataBuyer: Not named, sold through a shutdown serviceCode sold; workspace data sale pending.Reported by: MIT Technology Review
13 sources
ClosedOct 2026
$500K to $1.2M each
Four small US manufacturers, 60 to 130 staffOperating records (systems not specified)Buyer: Data broker A2-year licenses. Reported by the buyer's founder, not verified.Reported by: The buyer's founder on X
2 sources
  • Post on X · 24 Oct 2026we paid around $500,000-$1,200,000 for a 2 year data license
  • Post on X · 25 Oct 2026"we paid around $500,000-$1,200,000 for a 2 year data license" - [name], [Data broker A] founder, on deals with mostly small manufacturers.
Buyer-reportedOct 2026
$480K
Ecommerce brandCompany data (systems not specified)Buyer: Not namedOffer declined. Reported by the owner.Reported by: Owner on X
1 source
  • Post on X · 4 Oct 2026I was offered $480,000 for my company's data.
OfferOct 2026
$100K+ each
Six companies, sizes not statedCompany dataBuyer: AI data vendor AOffers. Second-hand (a friend of the owners).Reported by: Post on X
1 source
  • Post on X · 14 Oct 20266 of my friends have been offered $100k+ by [AI data vendor A]... simply to buy their company data.
OfferOct 2026
Tens of thousands each, on average
Five to ten failed startupsCodebasesBuyer: AI data vendor CBought. Reported by the buyer's CEO.Reported by: Fortune
5 sources
  • fortune.com · 14 Sep 2026his company had bought five to ten failed-startup codebases, paying an average in the tens of thousands of dollars for each.
  • aitrainer.work · 11 Oct 2026[AI data vendor C]'s CEO told Fortune it has paid tens of thousands of dollars on average for failed startups' codebases.
  • Industry directory · Undatedits CEO said it had bought five to ten failed-startup codebases at an average in the tens of thousands of dollars each
  • aitrainer.work · UndatedIn September 2026 its CEO told Fortune that [AI data vendor C] had bought five to ten failed startups' codebases, paying tens of thousands of dollars each on average.
  • Also reported by letsdatascience.com.
ClosedSep 2026
About $600K
US founder-led companySlack, Notion and emailBuyer: AI data vendor AOffer declined. Reported by the founder.Reported by: Founder on X
3 sources
  • Post on X · 15 Sep 2026We were offered like $600k to sell our company data to [AI data vendor A].
  • Post on X · 16 Sep 2026Someone offered [company] $600k for his team's Slack and Notion.
  • Post on X · 13 Oct 2026[company] was offered $600k for his company's Slack, Notion, and email.
OfferSep 2026
$400K to $600K
Company with about ten years of business recordsAll business data from the last decadeBuyer: AI data company in Palo Alto, not namedOffer declined. Reported by the owner.Reported by: Owner on X
1 source
  • Post on X · 15 Sep 2026They offered me like 600, 500, 400 thousand, something like that.
OfferSep 2026
$10M
Bankrupt US airline, about 17,000 staff, records back to 1986About 100M emails, 500M Teams messages, 30M lines of code, recorded customer calls, support ticketsBuyer: Large tech companyWon at bankruptcy auction (opened at $5M). Court approval pending.Reported by: Court filings, Reuters, Axios, Bloomberg, Forbes
189 sources
Agreed, pendingAug 2026
$7.5M
Same airline archiveSame archiveBuyer: AI data vendor BBackup bidder. Bid $5.2M, then $7M for the raw data, $7.5M, and $10M if it could anonymize with its own tools.Reported by: Court filings via Business Insider, Forbes, Fast Company
121 sources
Rival bidAug 2026
$12.5M
Same airline archiveNon-sensitive operational recordsBuyer: AI data vendor ACash bid filed after the auction closed.Reported by: Bankruptcy filing via Bloomberg and Fortune, and the bidder's CEO
32 sources
Rival bidSep 2026
Up to $300K
B2B software startup, winding down after an acqui-hireSlack, GitHub, Asana, Drive files and meeting transcriptsBuyer: AI data vendor B and othersFour offers up to $300K, all declined. Reported by The Information.Reported by: The Information, via press
4 sources
  • en.fnnews.com · 14 Aug 2026it received multiple offers to buy its codebase and employee communication records for as much as $300,000.
  • Industry directory · UndatedFour offers arrived, up to $300,000, and the CEO declined them all
  • Industry directory · UndatedFour offers, up to $300K per company
  • Post on X · 16 Aug 2026[AI data vendor B] offered one shutting company $300K for its old Slack messages.
OfferAug 2026
$300K
Company, size not statedSlack dataBuyer: AI lab, not namedOffer from one lab; owner was shopping for a better one. Second-hand (podcast recap).Reported by: Podcast recap on X
1 source
  • Post on X · 7 Aug 2026tony already got offered $300K from one lab
OfferAug 2026
Mid six figures
Operating startupSlack, email, GitHub and Google WorkspaceBuyer: Two AI labs, not namedOffer, raised after the founder flagged privacy concerns. Reported by the founder.Reported by: Founder on Reddit, r/startups
1 source
  • Reddit · 27 Aug 2026Interestingly, when I flagged these concerns, the offer increased to mid six figures.
OfferAug 2026
$1M
US company, about 20 employeesSlack, SOPs, process docs, project and CRM history (no customer data)Buyer: AI lab, not namedOffer reported by the company's founder.Reported by: Founder on X
2 sources
  • Post on X · 31 Jul 2026An AI lab offered $1M for our Slack data
  • Post on X · 1 Aug 2026That’s why they offered us $1M
OfferJul 2026
Hundreds of thousands of dollars
Captioning and transcription software company, US, shut down after 13 yearsEvery Slack message, internal email and Jira ticket, plus Google Drive filesBuyer: Not named, sold through a shutdown serviceSold. Reported by the former CEO.Reported by: Forbes, Fast Company, Fortune
20 sources
ClosedApr 2026
$450K
Roofing companyFull operational recordBuyer: Data labPerpetual exclusive license. Buyer's case study.Reported by: Buyer's case studies, independent review
4 sources
  • straight.com · 16 Oct 2026A roofing company received $450,000 for a perpetual exclusive license to its operational record.
  • martechverdict.com · 21 Oct 2026$110,000 (marketing agency) to $450,000 (roofing)
  • Buyer's website · Undated$450,000 ### Roofing company Perpetual exclusive license to the operational record.
  • Industry directory · Undated$450,000 per company record
Buyer-reported2026
$300K
General contractorFull operational recordBuyer: Data labPerpetual exclusive license. Buyer's case study.Reported by: Buyer's case studies, independent review
3 sources
  • straight.com · 16 Oct 2026A general contractor got $300,000.
  • Buyer's website · Undated$300,000 ### General contractor Perpetual exclusive license to the operational record.
  • Industry directory · Undated$300,000 per company record
Buyer-reported2026
$275K
Solar installerFull operational recordBuyer: Data labPerpetual exclusive license. Buyer's case study.Reported by: Buyer's case studies, independent review
2 sources
  • straight.com · 16 Oct 2026A solar company received $275,000.
  • Buyer's website · Undated$275,000 ### Solar company Perpetual exclusive license to the operational record.
Buyer-reported2026
$110K
Global marketing agencyFull operational recordBuyer: Data labPerpetual exclusive license. Buyer's case study.Reported by: Buyer's case studies, independent review
4 sources
  • straight.com · 16 Oct 2026A global marketing agency got $110,000.
  • martechverdict.com · 21 Oct 2026$110,000 (marketing agency) to $450,000 (roofing)
  • Buyer's website · Undated$110,000 ### Global marketing agency Perpetual exclusive license to the operational record.
  • Industry directory · Undated$110,000 per company record
Buyer-reported2026
About $150K
HVAC contractor, Michigan, 14 employeesCompany operating recordsBuyer: AI data vendor A (approached in June)Reported by The Information. Headline figure; terms not public.Reported by: The Information, July 2026, via two industry directories
6 sources
Offer2026
Six figures
Software companyStripe, Amplitude, Jira, Slack and email dataBuyer: Not namedOffer declined. Reported by the founder.Reported by: Founder on X
1 source
  • Post on X · 17 Aug 2026We ([company]) got a fairly decent six-figure offer for our data, but it just didn't feel worth it.
Offer2026
$50K
Small company, about 8 staff, 3 years of recordsEmail, chat, code, calls and docsBuyer: Data broker ABid mentioned in the broker's own site code.Reported by: Broker's website
2 sources
Offer2026
$350K
Accounting firm, 60 staffFive years of workpapers, reconciliations, financial models and tax filesBuyer: Data broker BClaimed by the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website, relayed by a second broker
3 sources
  • Industry directory · Undated$350K Paid to the business per company (one 60-person accounting firm)
  • Broker's website · Undated$350K Five years of workpapers, reconciliations, financial models and tax-preparation files.
  • Broker's website · Undated$350KPaid to the business
Broker-claimed2026
$450K
Engineering firm, 70 staffCAD drawings, calculations, technical reports and specificationsBuyer: Data broker BClaimed by the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website, relayed by a second broker
3 sources
  • Industry directory · Undated$450K Paid to the business per company (one 70-person engineering firm)
  • Broker's website · Undated$450K CAD drawings, calculations, technical reports, revisions and project specifications.
  • Broker's website · Undated$450KPaid to the business
Broker-claimed2026
$650K
Freight broker, 100 staffRate quotes, shipment documents, dispatch records and claimsBuyer: Data broker BClaimed by the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website, relayed by a second broker
3 sources
  • Industry directory · Undated$650K Paid to the business per company (one 100-person freight broker)
  • Broker's website · Undated$650K Rate quotes, shipment documents, dispatch records, delivery exceptions and claims.
  • Broker's website · Undated$650KPaid to the business
Broker-claimed2026
$1.2M
Industrial distributorCommunications, order history and supplier recordsBuyer: Data broker DPaid 9 days from bid, per the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website
2 sources
Broker-claimed2026
$500K
Third-party logistics companyDispatch records, customer messages and SOPsBuyer: Data broker DPaid 7 days from bid, per the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website
2 sources
Broker-claimed2026
$280K
Accounting groupWorkpapers and internal communicationsBuyer: Data broker DPaid 5 days from bid, per the broker. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's website
2 sources
Broker-claimed2026
$350K
Logistics and distribution businessGoogle Workspace, Slack, QuickBooks, warehouse and transport systemsBuyer: Data broker DBroker case study. Not independently confirmed.Reported by: Broker's case study
2 sources
  • Broker's website · 22 Sep 2026[Data broker D] confirmed a $350,000 payout for the completed deal.
  • Industry directory · Undated$350,000 payout per company (one logistics business)
Broker-claimed2026
$300K
Software company, one owner326 private code repositoriesBuyer: Data broker E (licensing partner)The broker's largest payout to date, per the broker.Reported by: Broker's website
1 source
Broker-claimed2026
Closed
Sale completed, reported by the press or the seller.
Agreed, pending
Price agreed, waiting on a court or a final signature.
Buyer-reported
Published by the buyer. Not independently confirmed.
Offer
An offer the company received. Many were declined.
Rival bid
A competing bid for the same records.
Broker-claimed
A broker's claim about its own deal. Many of these sites are weeks old.

What buyers say they pay

Ranges each buyer or broker publishes. These are their own marketing figures, not completed deals. Buyers are described by type; letters tell apart buyers of the same type.

BuyerPublished rangeTerms and notesSources
AI data vendor A$100K to $2M+Tiers: $100K+ first license, $500K+ recurring or multi-team, $1M+ rare proprietary data. A cold-email promoter quotes $200K to $600K one-off for mid-size firms.
47 sources
AI data vendor F$100K to $4M+No terms published.
9 sources
AI data vendor D$50K to $1M+Upfront fee at signing plus revenue share; exclusive by default.
8 sources
AI data vendor E$10K to $1M+Illustrative, scales with how often data is delivered.
6 sources
  • Industry directory · 15 Oct 2026"$10K to $1M+" as an "illustrative value per data partnership
  • martechverdict.com · 21 Oct 2026It prefers companies with 40+ employees and publishes an illustrative $10K to $1M+ per partnership.
  • Industry directory · 21 Oct 2026[AI data vendor E] pitches a continuous partnership rather than a one-off sale and shows “$10K to $1M+” as illustrative value per partnership.
  • Industry directory · 25 Oct 2026[AI data vendor E]: $10K to $1M+, “illustrative”
  • Also reported by Industry directory, Buyer's website.
AI data vendor G$100K to $1M+Priced on rarity, depth and exclusivity.
3 sources
Data lab$100K to $2MCo-founder: average $300K to $400K for a 50 to 100 person company, $2M to $4M for large ones.
14 sources
AI data vendor H$100K to $2MNo terms published.
1 source
AI data vendor CUp to $1M for a full operating recordCodebases alone: $10K to $100K+ for repos of 50,000+ lines.
9 sources
Data broker F$100K+No terms published.
4 sources
Licensing brokerSix figuresRevenue share; sells each dataset to several buyers.
7 sources
Shutdown service$10K to $100K per companyFor shut-down startups.
39 sources
AI data vendor B$20K to $1.5MAcross 24 listings by company type, e.g. law firm $50K to $1.25M, a software company's private code $50K to $500K.
3 sources
Codebase marketplaceUp to $20K per codebaseNo terms published.
1 source
AI data vendor IUp to $4MNo terms published.
3 sources
  • tech-insider.org · 20 Oct 2026It licenses business data directly from companies and offers qualifying ones up to $4M.
  • techbuzz.ai · 22 Oct 2026For a business with years of records like this, [AI data vendor I] offers a reason to look again: earn up to $4M by licensing your
  • techcrunch.com · 23 Oct 2026[AI data vendor I] offers up to $4M for business data beyond the web
Data broker GUp to $4MFixed sum agreed up front, paid by the labs.
5 sources
Data broker H$200K to $2M typical, up to $10MMinimum deal $200K.
1 source
  • Broker's website · 18 Oct 2026Deals we work on run from $200K to $10M, and most land between $200K and $2M.
Data broker AAverage deal $1.1M to $1.3MFounder's figure, up from $250K to $400K. Not verified.
6 sources
  • arr.club · 6 Oct 2026Founder [name] announced that [Data broker A] hit a $4M MRR ($48M ARR run rate) just two weeks after entering the data brokerage business.
  • Industry directory · 15 Oct 2026Your company's data could be worth $20K to $5M
  • Industry directory · Undated"premium licensing for company data worth millions" and up to 6 figures per workspace
  • Post on X · 14 Oct 2026literally entered this space two weeks ago and am at a $4m MRR (run rate) already.
  • Also reported by Post on X, Post on X.
AI data vendor J$20K to several hundred thousandClosed deals to date.
4 sources
Codebase buyerUp to $10K per codebasePaid in 7 to 14 days.
1 source
  • dev.to · 5 Jun 2026Frontier AI labs pay up to $10k for a qualifying one.

Market totals

Deal counts and money paid out, as stated by the companies involved.

How this ledger is built

We collect reports from the press, buyer and broker websites, X, Reddit and Hacker News. Every entry rests on a quote that contains the price, and each quote is checked word for word against the page it came from.

We leave out rumors, price-calculator outputs, healthcare records, and broker examples that the broker says are not its own clients, or that appear word for word on another broker's site. When one deal is reported by many outlets, it appears once with all of its sources.

In quotes, company names are replaced with [company] and buyer names with the buyer's type. Quotes are trimmed, and dashes and exclamation marks are changed to our punctuation. The source links go to the original reporting.

Data Licensors licenses company records directly and pays the company. The entries here are other companies' deals and offers, reported by others. We list them so you can compare any offer, ours included, with the market. Get your estimate.

See what your records could earn

About a minute. No upload, no system access, no commitment.